Need a good thriller in your life?

Hey readers!

I am finally getting around to blogging again. When I heard news that “The Girl on the Train” was being turned into a movie, I was equal parts excited and nervous. This was an outstanding thriller and I didn’t want it to be ruined because of the movie, so I recommend reading the novel first if you plan on watching the movie.

So, I normally do not read mystery/thriller novels, for no particular reason other than I always gravitate toward fantasy and/or YA Fiction. However, I spotted a novel at Barnes & Noble and I felt drawn to it. I am intrigued by trains and, honestly, it was the title that caught my attention. When I picked it up and read the description, I knew that it would be a thriller that I might actually enjoy. I walked my happy self to the counter and bought what I now consider one of the best thrillers of 2015!

22557272

Official Summary:

A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

A compulsively readable, emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller that draws comparisons to Gone Girl, The Silent Wife, or Before I Go to Sleep, this is an electrifying debut embraced by readers across markets and categories.

My Review:

I give this novel 4 stars out of 5. Hawkins does an excellent job of keeping the reader hooked and not losing track of the main plot. This novel is written from three women’s point of views, but the main protagonist is Rachel. She’s hit rock bottom in her life: her husband cheated on her and now they’re divorced. She’s an alcoholic, and for several months now she has been unemployed. Her daily routine is to take the train into London, even after losing her job. Rachel’s routine is how Hawkins portrays the main idea for this novel- the idea of observation. Ever heard of phrases that go something like, “We don’t always see things the way they truly are”? This thriller novel deeply explores that thought. The only negative comment I have about the novel is that I felt like there could have been some rearranging of scenes to add build up of suspense earlier in the book. It seemed to me like all of the real suspense and shocking moments were clustered together toward the end of the novel, and not enough spread out through the whole book. Otherwise, I highly recommend this novel.

Leave a Reply

