NaNoWriMo!!

Hello fellow readers and writers!

I’m so sorry that I’ve been abnormally absent for awhile. I have been super busy with my first semester of grad school. I am studying Library and Information Science at the University of Oklahoma. I have never felt more at home. However, with everything that happened with my dad in the summer, I’m still dealing with a lot, emotionally and mentally, to really enjoy school right now. That depresses me even more… Big changes are coming up soon though and I plan to finish this semester strong and find a way to be happy about school for the rest of the time I’m here.

I read “Slaughterhouse Five” by Kurt Vonnegut for Banned Books Week, and I will be posting a book review soon. What I wanted to share in this blog post though was that I am participating in NaNoWriMo this year!

nano_15_poster_image_0

I am working on a Young Adult novel that is loosely based on my experiences with being eating disordered (mainly in high school). Sharing a story about my struggles has always been a big writer’s block for me, because I was afraid to share my experiences but I also could not ever focus on writing anything else until that story was written. So, here I am attempting to write this story. One of my motivators for writing this story is the hope that if it is published one day, maybe my story could help someone who is currently struggling.

If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo this month, add me as a writing buddy! Search “thenovelgarden” and my profile will pop up.

Good luck, writers!

Leave a Reply

