A Fascinating Fairy tale spin off!

Good afternoon, readers! I was at Target about a month ago, and I was browsing through the book aisle (of course) when I noticed a series of books with colorful covers and the title “Whatever After.” I flipped the back of the first book and read a cute and spunky description. It went like this:

“Mirror Mirror on the basement wall… Once upon a time a mirror slurped up me and my brother, and magically transported us inside Snow White’s fairy tale. Then we stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn’t die, she won’t meet her prince or get her happy ending. Oops. Now it’s up to us to fix Snow White’s story. And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.”

I rehearsed in my head how I would explain to my husband this particular purchase…

book

Abby is the new girl in her fifth grade class. She and her family recently moved and it has been a little rough on Abby. She’s not particularly shy, but being the “new kid” in class always has its downsides. Also, it seems like everyone in this town does everything different! For example, she was taught to slice bananas and add them to a peanut butter sandwich to make the perfect PB Banana, but here they mix up the peanut butter and banana together and then spread the gooey mix onto their bread. Weirdos! Abby finds solace at the library and thinks often about her future (she is going to be a judge one day).
One night, her younger brother, Jonah, wakes her up and tells her that the basement mirror is turning colors and making weird noises. Alarmed, but also curious, she follows him to the basement. One event led to another and they get slurped (literally) into the mirror and spat out in Snow White’s world! However, they do not know that fact when they first get there. They figure it out when they run into the Evil Queen, disguised as an old lady, trying to give Snow White a poisoned apple. They rescue her and she doesn’t eat the apple! Isn’t that how her story goes, though? Once they realize who she is and what they did, they try to help Snow White obtain her happy ending and marry her Prince Charming.
I loved this story! I honestly do plan on reading more in this series (and I’ve mentioned to you all before that I am normally not a series person.) This was such a creative twist to Snow White and I loved how the author used this twist not only to be unique, but also to empower girls/children. Abby is a strong and determined young girl and Jonah is attentive to detail and kind-hearted. I cheered them on and knew they’d find a way to help out Snow White.
If you have young children (girls or boys because honestly, books have no gender and both sexes could enjoy this series), or if you’re a teacher and looking for a good series to read to your students, or even if you’re like me and still like to read all age levels of Young Adult Fiction, pick up this book!
I enjoy reading novels that are spin offs of fairy tales! I like seeing what other authors take out of them and see what they add in on their own accord. Some books that are inspired by fairy tales that I’ve enjoyed are: “Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow” by: Jessica Day George, and “Ella Enchanted” by Gail Carson Levine.
Until next time!
One thought on “A Fascinating Fairy tale spin off!

Leave a Reply

